Breguet Tradition Automatique Seconde Rétrograde 7097 Watch of the Year 2015

The 2015 contest was an exceptional one! For the first time in the history of the Watch of the Year (“Montre de l’Année”) award, the jury and the public arrived – independently of one other – at the same choice of watch to take first place on the podium. This unanimous verdict affirms the approach that the competition has always aimed to adopt: to keep close to the readers of Montres Passion / L’Hebdo.

This year’s winners are:

First Jury Prize for the Watch of the Year 2015:
Breguet – Tradition Automatique Seconde Rétrograde 7097

Second Jury Prize:
F.P. Journe – Octa Lune

Third Jury Prize:
Chopard – L.U.C Regulator

Ladies’ Watch of the Year:
Vacheron Constantin – Harmony Dual Time Petit Modèle

Special Jury Prize:
not awarded

And, as happens every year, the public also voted for its favourite watch in an online ballot, held on a dedicated website over a three-week period. After a total of several thousand votes had been counted, the public choice was:

People’s Prize: Breguet – Tradition Automatique Seconde Rétrograde 7097

The prizes and trophies were presented to representatives of the winning brands and manufacturers at a ceremonial gala on 19 November at La Réserve in Geneva, attended by over 500 prominent figures from the watchmaking world.

In order to be admitted to the shortlist, timepieces must meet three key criteria: they must be manufactured in Switzerland (Swiss Made), at least 200 copies must be produced, and the price for sale to the public must not exceed CHF 50,000. These rules give the competition its distinctive character: by honouring models that are relatively accessible and easily available, the Watch of the Year award aims to keep as close as possible to the readers – to the average man or woman in the street.

Inspired by the subscription timepieces and tact watches designed by Abraham-Louis Breguet from 1799 onwards, the Breguet Tradition Automatique Seconde Rétrograde 7097 originates from a collection that was presented in 2005. This was the first time that the workings of the mechanism were made visible above the baseplate. At 4 o’clock, the anti-shock device (known as the pare-chute, the ancestor of today’s Incabloc system and the emblematic feature of the collection) ensures that the balance-wheel pivot is protected against external shocks. The caliber, with its automatic winding mechanism, also features an inverted in-line lever escapement and a silicon balance spring.

Available in a rose gold or platinum case with a diameter of 40 or 42 mm, the new F.P. Journe Octa Lune has been redesigned to make it easier to read: the date aperture has been enlarged, as has the hours and minutes dial. Its mechanical movement (with automatic rewinding) also features a power reserve indicator covering 120 hours (5 days) and a moon phase display. For its part, the Chopard L.U.C Regulator is very easy to read, even though it has six indications (minutes in the centre, hours at 3 o’clock, small seconds at 6 o’clock, GMT function at 9 o’clock, power reserve indicator at 12 o’clock and date window at 4.30). With  its chronometer certificate issued by the COSC (Official Swiss Chronometer Testing Institute) and a “Poinçon de Genève” quality hallmark, this rose-gold timepiece has a diameter of 43 mm and an unbelievable power reserve of 216 hours or 9 days. Finally, the winning qualities of the Vacheron Constantin Harmony Dual Time Petit Modèle were the design of its case, its delicacy and its ergonomics.

Since 1994, the purpose of the Watch of the Year award has been to promote the best watch creations of each year, in terms of technology as well as aesthetics. The Prize was established by Montres Passion magazine, published in French and German versions by Ringier. As an ambassador for Swiss quality watches, this reference magazine aims to contribute to the development of watchmaking culture.

Fabrice Eschmann Editor-in-Chief Montres Passion
Ringier SA | Pont Bessières 3 | CP 7289 | CH-1002 Lausanne
Telephone: +41 21 331 77 80
E-mail: [email protected]